2013 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex - 20 April 2013
Page Two of Two
Ticketed guests await the opening of the auditorium for the induction ceremony. Happily, it did not rain while we were waiting in line though it looked like it wanted to all day.
The 2:00 P.M. event was broadcast live on NASA TV. That is longtime NBC news correspondent Jay Barbree in the bottom left hand corner in the blue shirt on hand to cover the event. The audience consisted of invited guests, astronaut family members, news media, student scholarship winners from the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation, and ticketed guests.
The stage was filled with an incredible assemblage of past Astronaut Hall of Fame inductees including: Buzz Aldrin, Joe Allen, John Blaha, Karol "Bo" Bobko, Charlie Bolden, Vance Brand, Dan Brandenstein, Curt Brown, Bob Cabana, Scott Carpenter, Franklin Chang Diaz, Eileen Collins, Bob Crippen, Walt Cunningham, Charlie Duke, Bonnie Dunbar, Sam Durrance, Chris Ferguson, Owen Garriott, Hoot Gibson, Dick Gordon, Fred Haise, Hank Hartsfield, Rick Hauck, Steve Hawley, Jeff Hoffman, Jack Lousma, Edgar Mitchell, Pinky Nelson, Kent Rominger, Brewster Shaw, Loren Shriver, Tom Stafford, Kathy Thornton, and Charlie Walker.

LEFT: The master of ceremonies was CNN correspondent John Zarrella.

BELOW LEFT: Buzz Aldrin and Walt Cunningham. Aldrin, of course, walked on the Moon with Neil Armstrong on Apollo 11. Cunningham flew the first flight of an Apollo spacecraft during the Apollo 7 test flight.

BELOW RIGHT: NASA Administrator Charlie Bolden.

The event was a succession of various speakers centered around the induction of Bonnie Dunbar, Curt Brown, and Eileen Collins into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame. The selected photos are just a sampling of the event.
Newly inducted astronaut Bonnie Dunbar sits beside Curt Brown who is being introduced by Robert "Hoot" Gibson who had several funny stories to tell.
Newly inducted astronaut Eileen Collins, the first female Space Shuttle pilot and Shuttle commander, gets a round of applause as she stands next to Charlie Duke and Bob Cabana.
Eileen Collins also had some funny stories to tell about her fellow astronauts. She ended on a serious note with a plea for continuing education and remembering the lost astronauts from the Challenger and Columbia accidents.
Bonnie Dunbar, Curt Brown, and Eileen Collins congratulate each other at the conclusion of the ceremony.
The astronauts received a standing ovation at the end of the ceremony.
Buzz Aldrin and Walt Cunningham as they exit the stage. I am already looking forward to next year's ceremony.
All contents copyright Lunar Cabin